Eddy's Lake Mille Lacs Resort
Eddy’s Resort has a rich history that began in 1960. The resort is named after the ambitious entrepreneur – Edward Silker, A.K.A. Eddy. In 1949, Eddy moved to the Mille Lacs area with his family when he was just nine years old. Even at that early age, he began honing his business skills by making and selling fishing sinkers to area resorts. By the time he was 15, Eddy was already dreaming of commanding the largest fleet of fishing vessels on the lake. And that is exactly what he did.
In 1960, he established Eddy’s Resort and began his launch fishing operation. Every winter for the next 10 years, he and his crew would handcraft a new launch boat. All boats were built at Eddy’s Resort and were numbered according to what year they were built. The boats 6, 8, 9 and 10 signify the years 1966, 1968, 1969 and 1970 and are still being used to this day.
The resort itself underwent several changes throughout the years, but still remained an iconic staple to the area.
In 2002, Eddy’s Resort was acquired by the Corporate Commission of the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe – a company now known as Mille Lacs Corporate Ventures (MLCV). They were excited to be part of the Mille Lacs Lake resort community and to carry on the legacy of Eddy’s Resort. That excitement hasn’t wavered.
The old Eddy’s Resort may have sufficed for the last few decades, but MLCV realized that a renewed investment was needed. They engaged their architectural partners to find a restorative solution that would capture the genuine spirit of Eddy’s and create a destination resort tha